Sunday, July 10, 2022

Michael McArthur - Run Around (Official Audio)

Michael McArthur Gets The "Run Around" On Soulful New Single, Out Now
Jacquire King-Produced Sophomore Album Milky Stars Out Sept 16th
 On Transoceanic Records/Soundly Music
Singer/songwriter Michael McArthur released his soulful new single "Run Around." The latest track to release off his forthcoming album Milky Stars (out 9/16 through Transoceanic Records/Soundly Music), "Run Around" speaks to self-worth and virtue through the guise of the protagonist's wayward ways. Holler featured the track and called it "one of those songs that will shine brightly in the imaginations of many listeners that fall under its spell; a raw slice of bluesy country soul that brings to mind Stanley Road-era Paul Weller with the emotional weight of Colin Blunstone and the playfulness of Leon Russell. McArthur's fresh take on 60s soul and R&B slots in neatly alongside contemporaries like Marcus King, Anderson East and Lukas Nelson."
Listen to "Run Around" HERE.
Pre-order/pre-save Milky Stars HERE.
"There is a story within the story," stated McArthur. "It's less about the female character, though she is a star, and more about one's inability to value oneself. If we believe this is what we deserve, then it's all we'll ever have. And that goes both ways. 'Run Around' is the cycle of putting yourself down to lift someone else up, or taking someone down to be lifted up."
He continued, "I wrote this one 9 years ago or so. It's had a special place in the garden since then, but from a recording standpoint, I hadn't been able to capture it in the right light. Then Jacquire got ahold of it. He challenged me to finesse the lyrics and update the structure. 'Run Around' is grown up now, and I'm getting to know it all over again."
"Run Around" follows the release of lead single "Lady Luck," a gritty cry for help which features Drew Smithers (Marcus King Band) on slide guitar. The song has since spent 3 weeks in the Top 40 on Billboard's Triple A Indicator Chart and in the Top 40 on RMR's Roots Rock Chart. Upon its release, McArthur stated, "When I hear Drew's slide solo on this song, I can't help but imagine someone falling to Earth from the sky, spinning and tumbling. Reaching for the rip cord, but no dice. Then at the last possible moment, they find the handle, pull the cord, and the chute opens. Lady Luck."
Recorded in Nashville and produced by Grammy-winner Jacquire King (Tom Waits, Kings of Leon, James Bay, Kaleo, Modest Mouse), Milky Stars is rooted in McArthur's own mix of rock, raw soul, and lushly layered indie folk. An unapologetically lyric-forward writer, his words naturally wrap themselves around his listeners' lives when put to melody. Through trauma and triumph, music has been his lifelong companion. He writes what he knows, with each song carrying an undercurrent of darkness in a river of personal experience. As a kid, McArthur dreamed of becoming the world's best guitar player, but every time he'd sit down to practice, he found himself writing a song instead. Two decades later, not much has changed. Despite packing theaters and garnering critical acclaim for his captivating live shows, he still considers himself a hardworking songwriter first.
McArthur built his career the same way he writes his songs -- by putting in the work to get the muse to visit. Leaving the family restaurant business to pursue a full-time music career in 2010, McArthur bootstrapped the release of several singles and EPs with producers David Bianco (Tom Petty, Lucinda Williams) and Greg Wells (Adele, Taylor Swift, Rufus Wainwright). In 2019, he released his debut LP, Ever Green, Ever Rain, produced by Grammy-winner Ryan Freeland (Ray Lamontagne, Bonnie Raitt), which earned praise from Billboard, American Songwriter, HuffPost, PopMatters, Americana Highways, Cowboys & IndiansRiffs & Rhymes, and Glide who raved "he treats ears to songs that stray from the obvious, and rewards ears with a deep-rooted voice reminiscent of Cash, Lightfoot, and Hansard."
Track List:
01) Grocery Store Skeletons
02) Lady Luck
03) Run Around
04) The Road I Knew
05) Oh, Sedona
06) I Needed You There
07) Time Well Spent
08) In a Lover's Dream
09) See Her as a Woman
10) Waltz for Life
11) A Common Ground
12) Winding River
Missing Piece
Music Film Fashion Blog

No comments:

Post a Comment