Friday, May 21, 2021


COURSE Release Anticipated Debut Album
A Late Hour
Embraced By ConsequenceAtwood,
Under The RadarAmerican Songwriter,
And More

May 21, 2021 - After months of teasing new singles, Chicago's up-and-coming synth/indie/pop group Course released today their anticipated debut album A Late Hour. Available everywhere, it also features a collection of nine short stories written by singer/guitarist Jessica Robbins that accompanies each song on the record. Stream or purchase the album HERE.
Course announced their debut earlier this year with the release of their lead single "Give It All Away," which Under The Radar called "a lush dream pop tapestry." It was followed by the "optimistic" (Consequence) standout single "Sixteen" and "Nick of Time," which was featured as American Songwriter's Daily DiscoveryAtwood Magazine also chose the band as one of their 2021 Artists To Watch and stated, "Course have set themselves apart as an intimately expressive alternative band brimming with irresistibly catchy tunes, cathartic emotions, and utterly stunning energy."
Comprised of veteran musicians Robbins, Chris Dye (drums), Dan Ingenthron (synth/keys), Mikey Russell (guitar), and Brian Weekly (bass), Course blends diverse aspects of dream-pop, 90's new-wave, alternative, electronic, and indie rock. Drawing on Robbins' indie-folk roots, Course incorporates polished, modern production and lush electronic instrumentation to create songs with a characteristic ethereal-industrial sheen.
Course recorded the bulk of A Late Hour in the desert town of Dripping Springs, TX with producer Dan Duszynski (of Subpop group Loma), who's studio is set up among a series of airstream trailers. Bright but with depth, the album offers a collection of elegantly upbeat reflections on life and love - though not without somber moments. It's an album filled with intricate and sweeping stories - literally. At one point while writing lyrics, Robbins found herself stuck, so she devised another way into the songs: She wrote narrative fictional short stories to accompany and elaborate each track. The stories will be released in a Chapbook this July.

Missing Piece

Music Film Fashion Blog

No comments:

Post a Comment